The NDIS with SPP

The NDIS Quality and Safeguarding Framework (the Framework) comes into effect as each state and territory transitions to full scheme NDIS, as follows.

  • From 1 July 2018 in NSW and SA
  • 1 July 2019 in ACT, NT, Qld, Tas and Vic
  • 1 July 2020 in WA

The Framework replaces the previous state, territory, and Commonwealth quality and safeguarding requirements that applied to the provision of disability services. It incorporates the NDIS Practice Standards, the Code of Conduct, Complaints Management and Resolution, and Incident Management and Reportable Incident requirements.

The Framework in SPP

Self-assessments are available in SPP for all major components of the NDIS Quality and Safeguarding Framework. The Code of Conduct, the Practice Standards Core module and the Verification module have all been mapped across all other standards within SPP.

Skip to Practice Standards »

Skip to Code of Conduct »

Skip to Terms of Business »

Skip to Other disability services standards »



Practice Standards - Core Module and Modules 1-6

The NDIS Practice Standards (the Standards) focus on upholding the rights of people with a disability, and set out the quality and safety requirements for all registered NDIS providers. The Standards are closely aligned with the current National Standards for Disability Services and National Standards for Mental Health Services.

The Standards consist of a Core module, together with the following six supplementary modules, and a module that applies to providers required to follow a verification (as opposed to certification) assessment process:

  • Module 1: High intensity daily personal activities
  • Module 2: Specialist behaviour support
  • Module 2A: Implementing behaviour support plans
  • Module 3: Early childhood supports
  • Module 4: Specialised support coordination
  • Module 5: Specialist disability accommodation
  • Module 6: Verification

There are two assessment methods for the Practice Standards that apply - Certification and Verification - depending on the risk profile of the supports provided, and the type of legal entity of the provider.

Providers who are required to be certified will need to self-assess against the Core module, together with all of the supplementary modules that may be applicable to the supports they deliver.

Providers who are required to be verified will only need to follow the separate “Verification” module of standards.

> Download a summary of the assessment method and relevant Practice Standard modules applicable to each NDIS support type

Complaints Management and Resolution and Incident Management and Reportable Incidents

All of the Framework’s specific requirements regarding Complaints Management and Resolution, and Incident Management and Reportable Incidents, have been packaged into the Practice Standards assessments.

This means that whether you have to complete the Certification or Verification process, these requirements are built into the assessments for each process.

Verification vs Certification

Under the National Disability Insurance Scheme (Provider Registration and Practice Standards) Rules 2018, there are two assessment methods that apply, depending on the risk profile of the supports provided: verification and certification.

“Verification” means an assessment by an approved quality auditor against the applicable standard by conducting a desk audit, including reviewing the provider’s relevant evidence documentation. This method of assessment applies to lower risk and less complex supports, such as therapeutic supports, assistance with travel/transport arrangements, and household tasks.

“Certification” means an assessment by an approved quality auditor against the applicable standard by conducting (i) the same desk audit as for verification; (ii) a physical inspection of the sites, facilities, equipment and services to be used in the delivery of the supports; and (iii) interviews with key personnel of the provider, as well as with people receiving the supports. This will be the assessment method required for more complex and higher-risk supports, such as assistance with daily personal activities, behaviour support, and early childhood supports. In addition, all providers that are bodies corporate or government providers will require certification.


NDIS Code of Conduct

The Code of Conduct outlines the minimum expectations of people delivering NDIS supports and services. It applies to all NDIS providers and persons employed or otherwise engaged by them, regardless of whether or not they are registered.

The Code will be regulated by the Commission, and any providers found to have breached the code may incur penalties, or may be barred from providing supports within the NDIS.

Self-assessments for the Code of Conduct are available in SPP.

> Download a summary of the Code of Conduct


NDIA Terms of Business

Self-assessments for the NDIA Terms of Business and SDA Addendum are both available in Standards & Performance Pathways (SPP).

The Terms of Business set out protocols and requirements that must be complied with by all Registered Providers of supports in the NDIS in states/territories yet to transition to the Quality and Safeguarding Framework (currently all states/territories except NSW and SA). If a Registered Provider does not comply with the Terms of Business, the NDIA may consider revoking the Registered Provider’s registration.

Registered Providers of Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) must also be aware of, and comply with, the additional requirements set out in the SDA Addendum to the Terms of Business.

> Download a summary of the NDIA Terms of Business


Disability Services Standards on SPP

Until the Framework is fully implemented, existing State and Territory quality and safeguarding arrangements will continue to be used, together with the NDIA Terms of Business. SPP carries the following standards relevant to existing arrangements.

  • Attendant Care Industry Standard (2013)
  • Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES)
  • Disability Services Standards (Advocacy) (2012)
  • Home Care Common Standards (2015)
  • National Standards for Disability Services (2013)
  • National Standards for Mental Health Services (2010)
  • NSW Disability Services Standards Key Performance Indicators (2012)
  • NSW Disability Services Standards (2016)
  • NT Disability Service Standards
  • Queensland Human Services Quality Standards (2016)
  • Tasmanian Quality and Safety Standards (2016)
  • Victorian Human Services Standards (2015)


Accessing Standards & Performance Pathways

As well as these NDIS essentials, a subscription to SPP includes self-assessments for over 50 other community services and health standards (click here to see the full list). Your organisation will also have access to over 500 policy templates and information sheets to help you undertake the practical steps towards achieving compliance.

> Subscribe or learn more about SPP

Are you a National Disability Services (NDS) Member? Receive a 10% discount by subscribing to the NDS Quality Portal, a version of SPP developed for NDS Members. Further details are available here.